Dear Stranger 4: A mistake.

The week long Sports meet at our college was a good excuse for us to legally bunk classes. First day was the Badminton competition. Most of my friends and me made a first round exit as expected but we still hung around as we didn’t want to go back to college and attend lectures being attended by teachers pets. We hung about doing unofficial and at times unwelcome commentary on matches going on. Puns and subtle humorous jabs at our rival group kept things edgy and our crowd entertained. One girl seemed particularly entertained and was dropping hints which i thought were a bit leading.

After the day was over I enquired about the girl and came to know that she was not be messed about with. The last guy that approached her got only a slap in return. So I decided not to pursue the matter further as she was from the rival group as well. But deeper within I subconsciously took it as a bit of a challenge to approach her and not get the slap-sure return.

The day 2 event was Volleyball and while playing the first match I noticed that girl was watching the match today as well. We won the first match easily. I looked towards her she was chatting with a few girls from my class only. I thought this would be the perfect opportunity. So I went ahead with the first plan in my head- Shinda 420. Shinda is a made-up character few of my friends and me use quite a lot. I went to the group and started chatting to my female friends standing close to her group. I was looking for some hint of interest from her and it was quite evidently there.

I said Hello to my classmate she was talking to and asked her How did she like the match. She was in mid-sentence when I suddenly shifted the focus and asked HER how did u like the match?? It was good no??.Before she could respond with anything more than a nod I continued my dialogue in chaste Punjabi. Thank you ji, I am Shinda from kukar (Mr Hen) village, District Jalandhar. And this match was nothing you should have come to our football match . Everyone told me Shinda just kick the ball towards Goal and don’t touch the ball at all or we will all fall on you with our kicks. I said ok shinda will do as you say. But then during match the ball go out of line and the man from other team, poor illiterate guy picked it up with his hands and threw it. I taught him a lesson with a tight slap but before i could explain myself the whole rival team was on me with punches and kicks. I kept asking them beat me if you want but please follow rules don’t use your hands.

Everyone standing there was laughing so hard but SHE was a bit stunned and i didn’t give her anymore time for slapstick and said SatSriAkaal Madamji and left as if I was being called for next match. I thought i had done it approached her and not got slapped. Maybe left an impression on her as well and when later on she will know I lied about my name and all she wouldn’t be bothered to smile at me anymore but i was wrong and it was a Mistake.

20140829-141640.jpg

Leave a comment